Northern Virginia Waste Management Board

Mission
The Northern Virginia Waste Management Board, composed of solid waste managers and public works directors from each of NVRC's member jurisdictions, was created in 1989 to promote regional approaches and solutions to recycling and waste management issues in Northern Virginia.

Special projects of the Board include the Solid Waste Report and the Know Toxics Campaign.

Waste Board Members and Alternates as of December 2017
Jurisdiction
Contact Information
Alternate
City of Alexandria
Alton Weaver
Resource Recovery Division Chief, T&ES
Alton.Weaver@alexandriava.gov

Arlington CountyErik Grabowsky
Division Chief, Division of Solid Waste    
egrabowsky@arlingtonva.us
Shani Kruljac
Environmental Planner
skruljac@arlingtonva.us
Town of Dumfries
Terry Myers
Assistant Director of Public Works
tmeyers@dumfriesva.gov



City of Fairfax
Rob Goodman
Refuse and Recycling Supervisor
Rob.Goodman@fairfaxva.gov
Edwin Gonzalez
Refuse and Recycling Supervisor
Edwin.Gonzalez@fairfaxva.gov
Fairfax County
Pamela Gratton (NVWMB Chair)
Director of Waste Collection & Recycling
Pamela.Gratton@fairfaxcounty.gov
John Kellas
Deputy Director, DPWES
John.Kellas@fairfaxcounty.gov
City of Falls Church
Michael Whitfield
Interim Director of Public Works
mwhitfield@fallschurchva.gov
Chris McGough (NVWMB Vice Chair)
Deputy Director, Public Works & Environmental Services
cmcgough@fallschurchva.gov
Town of Herndon
Robert B. Boxer
Director of Public Works
Town of Herndon
bob.boxer@herndon-va.gov
Mike Doi
Deputy Director of Public Works
Town of Herndon
Mike.Doi@herndon-va.gov
Town of Leesburg
Renee LaFollette
Director of Public Works
rlafollette@leesburgva.gov
Charlie Mumaw
Public Works Manager
cmumaw@leesburgva.gov
Loudoun County
Ernest Brown
Director of  Department of General Services
Ernest.Brown@loudoun.gov
Mike Fairbanks
Manager, Waste Management Division
Mike.fairbanks@loudoun.gov
City of Manassas
Monica Boehringer
Refuse and Recycling Coordinator
mboehringer@manassasva.gov
Steve Burke
Director of Public Works
sburke@ci.manassas.va.us
City of Manassas Park
Jay Johnson
Director of Public Works
Department of Public Works
J.Johnson@manassasparkva.gov
Laura Coughanour
Department of Public Works
l.coughanour@manassasparkva.gov
Prince William County
Tom Bruun
Director of Public Works
Tbruun@pwcgov.org
Tom Smith
Solid Waste Division Chief
tsmith@pwcgov.org
Town of Vienna
Michael J. Gallagher, P.E.
Director of Public Works
MGallagher@viennava.gov

MWCOG
John Snarr
Principal Environmental Planner
Department of Environmental Programs
jsnarr@mwcog.org

NVRC Staff
Debbie Spiliotopoulos
Senior Environmental Planner
Planning and Environmental Services
P: 703/642-4631, F: 703-642-5077
dspilio@novaregion.org
Norm Goulet
Director
Planning and Environmental Services
P: 703/642-4634, F: 703-642-5077
ngoulet@novaregion.org
Meetings

The Board meets quarterly, usually on the first Fridays of March, June, September, and December at the offices of NVRC.

For more information, contact Debbie Spiliotopoulos, NVRC Senior Environmental Planner at 703-642-4631.

Waste Board Staff