Northern Virginia Waste Management Board

The Northern Virginia Waste Management Board, composed of solid waste managers and public works directors from each of NVRC’s member jurisdictions, was created in 1989 to promote regional approaches and solutions to recycling and waste management issues in Northern Virginia.

Special projects of the Board include the Solid Waste Report and the Know Toxics Campaign.

Waste Board Members and Alternates as of December 2017
JurisdictionContact InformationAlternate
City of AlexandriaJeffrey DuVal
Deputy Director of T&ES
Helen Lee
Environmental Program Manager
Arlington CountyErik Grabowsky
Division Chief, Division of Solid Waste
Shani Kruljac
Environmental Planner
Town of DumfriesJonet Prevost-White
Director of Public Works

City of FairfaxRobert Goodman
Refuse and Recycling Supervisor
Edwin Gonzalez
Refuse and Recycling Supervisor
Fairfax CountyEric Forbes
Director of Waste Collection & Recycling
Charles Forbes
Chief, Recycling, Compliance, and Planning Concurrence
City of Falls ChurchZak Bradley
Acting Director of Public Works
Lonnie Marquetti
Acting Solid Waste and Environmental Programs Coordinator
Town of HerndonScott Robinson
Director of Public Works
Town of Herndon
Tammy Chastain
Deputy Director of Public Works
Town of Herndon
Town of LeesburgRenee LaFollette 
Director of Public Works
Charlie Mumaw 
Public Works Manager
Loudoun CountyErnest Brown
Director of Department of General Services
Mike Fairbanks
Manager, Waste Management Division
City of ManassasMonica Boehringer (2020 Chair)
Refuse and Recycling Coordinator
Scott Horan
Director of Public Works
City of Manassas ParkJay Johnson
Director of Public Works
Department of Public Works
Laura Coughanour 
Department of Public Works
Prince William CountyTom Smith 
Assitant Director of Public Works for Solid Waste
Scott MacDonald
Recycling Program Manager
Town of ViennaMichael J. Gallagher, P.E.
Director of Public Works
David Donahue
Deputy Director of Public Works 
MWCOGJohn Snarr
Principal Environmental Planner
Department of Environmental Programs

NVRC StaffDebbie Spiliotopoulos
Senior Environmental Planner
Planning and Environmental Services
P: 703/642-4631, F: 703-642-5077
Norm Goulet
Planning and Environmental Services
P: 703/642-4634, F: 703-642-5077

The Board meets quarterly, usually on the first Fridays of March, June, September, and December at the offices of NVRC.

For more information, contact Debbie Spiliotopoulos, NVRC Senior Environmental Planner at 703-642-4631.

Waste Board Staff