Northern Virginia Waste Management Board

Mission
The Northern Virginia Waste Management Board, composed of solid waste managers and public works directors from each of NVRC’s member jurisdictions, was created in 1989 to promote regional approaches and solutions to recycling and waste management issues in Northern Virginia.

Special projects of the Board include the Solid Waste Report and the Know Toxics Campaign.

Waste Board Members and Alternates as of December 2017
Jurisdiction
Contact Information
Alternate
City of Alexandria
Helen Lee
Environmental Program Manager
Helen.Lee@alexandriava.gov
Mike Clem
Program Analyst
Michael.Clem@alexandriava.gov
Arlington CountyErik Grabowsky
Division Chief, Division of Solid Waste    
egrabowsky@arlingtonva.us
Shani Kruljac
Environmental Planner
skruljac@arlingtonva.us
Town of Dumfries
Jonet Prevost-Walker
Director of Public Works
jwhite@dumfriesva.gov



City of Fairfax
Rob Goodman
Refuse and Recycling Supervisor
Rob.Goodman@fairfaxva.gov
Edwin Gonzalez
Refuse and Recycling Supervisor
Edwin.Gonzalez@fairfaxva.gov
Fairfax County
Erik Forbes
Director of Waste Collection & Recycling
Pamela.Gratton@fairfaxcounty.gov
Charlie Forbes
Chief, Recycling, Compliance, and Planning Concurrence
Charles.Forbes@fairfaxcounty.gov
City of Falls Church
Michael Whitfield
Interim Director of Public Works
mwhitfield@fallschurchva.gov
Lonnie Marquetti
Acting Solid Waste and Environmental Programs Coordinator
cmcgough@fallschurchva.gov
Town of Herndon
Scott Robinson
Director of Public Works
Town of Herndon
scott.robinson@herndon-va.gov
Tammy Chastain
Deputy Director of Public Works
Town of Herndon
Mike.Doi@herndon-va.gov
Town of Leesburg
Renee LaFollette (Chair)
Director of Public Works
rlafollette@leesburgva.gov
Charlie Mumaw 
Public Works Manager
cmumaw@leesburgva.gov
Loudoun County
Ernest Brown
Director of  Department of General Services
Ernest.Brown@loudoun.gov
Mike Fairbanks
Manager, Waste Management Division
Mike.fairbanks@loudoun.gov
City of Manassas
Monica Boehringer 
Refuse and Recycling Coordinator
mboehringer@manassasva.gov
Scott Horan
Director of Public Works
shoran@ci.manassas.va.us
City of Manassas Park
Jay Johnson
Director of Public Works
Department of Public Works
J.Johnson@manassasparkva.gov
Laura Coughanour 
Department of Public Works
l.coughanour@manassasparkva.gov
Prince William County

Director of Public Works

Tom Smith 
Solid Waste Division Chief
tsmith@pwcgov.org
Town of Vienna
Michael J. Gallagher, P.E.
Director of Public Works
MGallagher@viennava.gov
David Donahue
Deputy Director of Public Works
David.Donahue@viennava.gov
MWCOG
John Snarr
Principal Environmental Planner
Department of Environmental Programs
jsnarr@mwcog.org

NVRC Staff
Debbie Spiliotopoulos
Senior Environmental Planner
Planning and Environmental Services
P: 703/642-4631, F: 703-642-5077
dspilio@novaregion.org
Norm Goulet
Director
Planning and Environmental Services
P: 703/642-4634, F: 703-642-5077
ngoulet@novaregion.org
Meetings

The Board meets quarterly, usually on the first Fridays of March, June, September, and December at the offices of NVRC.

For more information, contact Debbie Spiliotopoulos, NVRC Senior Environmental Planner at 703-642-4631.

Waste Board Staff