Falls Church Profile

The City of Falls Church is an independent city which operates under the Council-Manager form of government. Political authority is vested in the seven-member City Council.

Council members are elected at-large for four-year terms. The Council selects the Mayor and Vice Mayor who serve two-year terms. The City Manager is appointed by the City Council to serve as the chief administrative officer.

Official Website

Located approximately six miles west of Washington, DC, adjacent to the counties of Arlington and Fairfax, Virginia.

Size and Population

  • 2.2 square miles
  • 14,460, July 1, 2018 population estimate (Weldon Cooper Center)

NVRC Representative


Hon. David Tarter